最新趋势

Lagersmit 爱护自然并尊重保护(海上)环境的规定。因此,我们持续不断地观察海运界的趋势并开发(绿色)密封解决方案,帮助您遵守不同的法规并保护自然。

自然保护规定

目前,有一些保护海洋生态环境的规定已经或将在接下来的一年内生效:

船舶通用许可

2013 年 12 月 19 日,美国环境保护局(EPA)发布的修订版船舶通用许可(VGP)现已生效。在技术上可行的情况下,VGP 要求在美国沿海和内陆水域航行的所有长79 英尺及以上的商船上所有油水接口(例如,艉轴管密封件、推进器密封件)中都必须使用环境可接受型润滑剂(EAL)。这究竟意味着什么?

压载水管理

随着巴哈马的加入,《压载水管理公约》的缔约国总数已增加到 59 个,占全球船队的 65.18%。公约将于 2017 年 9 月 8 日生效。

公约要求在释放之前对压载水进行处理。而国际贸易中的所有船舶必须根据批准的压载水管理计划管理压载水,携带压载水记录簿和国际压载水管理证书。这些标准将在一段时间内分阶段实施。在此之前,船舶应在海洋中间更换压载水。最终,大多数船舶都需要按照国际海事组织(IMO)制定的程序,安装一个经国家当局批准的压载水处理系统。

港口国管制

经过国外港口的每艘商船均可由该港口的国家主管部门进行监督,核实船舶及其设备的状况是否符合国际规定的要求。船舶需要按照这些规定配备人员和操作。检查将由各国国家港口管理局的代表官员负责。这些官员依据的法律文书是关于船上安全、污染预防和工作条件的国际海事公约。不遵守公约可能导致代价高昂的延误甚至被拘留。

极地规则

国际海事组织通过了《极地水域船舶安全航行国际规则》(“极地规则”)和相关修正案,使其符合《国际海上人命安全公约》(SOLAS)和《国际防止船舶造成污染公约》(MARPOL)。“极地规则”涵盖了在两极地区恶劣海况中航行船舶的设计、施工、装备、操作、培训、搜救和环境保护事宜。“极地规则”已于 2017 年 1 月 1 日生效。

Latest News & Blogs

Header 160 jaar Lagersmit v1.2

Trends

Lagersmit cares for nature and respects regulations to protect the (maritime) world. We therefore are constantly checking the trends in the maritime world and developing (green) sealing solutions helping you to be compliant with different regulations and protecting nature.

Regulations protecting nature

Currently there are a few regulations that are already effective or are going to be in effect in the next year to protect maritime nature:

Vessel General Permit

On 19 December 2013, the revised Vessel General Permit (VGP) issued by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) have come into force. This means that the VGP mandates the use of Environmentally Acceptable Lubricants (EAL) in all oil-to-water interfaces (e.g. stern tube seals, thruster seals) on all merchant vessels of 79 feet or longer that are sailing in US coastal and inland waters – unless technically infeasible. What does this all mean?

Ballast Water Management

Due to the accession of the Bahamas the total number of contracting states to the treaty has reached 59, which represents 65.18 % of the global fleet by tonnage. This means that the convention will definitely enter into force on September 8, 2017.

The treaty requires for ballast water to be treated before it’s released. All ships in international trade have to manage their ballast water according to an approved ballast water management plan, carry a ballast water record book and an international ballast water management certificate. The standards will be phased in over a period of time. Until then ships should exchange ballast water mid-ocean. Eventually most ships need to install a ballast water treatment system which is approved by national authorities, according to a process developed by the International Maritime Organization (IMO).

Port State Control

Every merchant vessel passing through foreign ports may be controlled by the national authorities to verify that the condition of the vessel and its equipment comply with the requirements of international regulations. A vessel needs to be manned and operated in compliance with these rules. The inspection will be carried out by officers representing the national port authority of each country. The legal instruments of these officers are the international maritime conventions about safety, pollution prevention and working conditions on board a vessel. Non-compliance may lead to costly delays or even detention.

Polar Code

The IMO has adopted the International Code of Safety for Ships Operating in Polar Waters (Polar Code) and related amendments to make it mandatory under both the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) and the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL). The Polar Code covers the full range of design, construction, equipment, operational, training, search and rescue and environmental protection matters relevant to ships operating in the inhospitable waters surrounding the two poles. The Polar Code entered into force on 1 January 2017.

Latest News & Blogs